Perhaps I Long Too

This morning when I tried to sleep, I felt this urgency to write. I was dead tired but the urgency was pressing. For convenience, I now have a notebook and pencil beside my bed. I hope you enjoy the following. This is part of my series of experiments with haiku.

Perhaps I Long Too

Perhaps I long too
much to see your eyes meet mine
lock in gentle gaze.

Perhaps I long too
much to hear your kind voice speak
words into my ears.

Perhaps I long too
much to feel your lips brush with
mine passionately.

No eyes to see. No
voice to hear. No lips to kiss.
Perhaps I long too.

3:05 AM 6/22/2006

Leave a Reply

