Stating the Obvious

Don’t you just love it when some person states to you the obvious? Most of the time it makes me smile. Let me give you an example. I overheard the following from a night-time radio program while taking a ride home:

Radio Guy: We’ve got a text here from Girly(not the actual name). It says: My boyfriend asked for my hand in marriage but I’m not yet ready. What should I do?

Radio Guy: It is actually very simple Girly (sounding very stern), just tell your boyfriend that YOU ARE NOT YET READY! (sounding sarcastic) Okay? I hope that helps. Now, we’ve got another text from…

Can love be that blind?

On a separate note, I was introduced to the villanelle indirectly when Jenn forwarded me an email about a winning poem. I had to try writing one yesterday.

This is for all of you who love to state the obvious (consciously or otherwise). I hope it will make you smile.

Ladies and gentlemen, my first villanelle:

Stating the Obvious

I did’nt quite believe my ears.
An echo heard beyond the years
when you stated the obvious.

How can it be? It was too much!
A funny bone shakes and cheers!
I did’nt quite believe my ears.

Why did you have to say as such?
My mind was stunned among it’s peers
when you stated the obvious.

Where did you get that midas touch?
Soliciting laughter and tears,
I did’nt quite believe my ears.

While delivering quite a punch,
you drop regard and slide all fears
when you stated the obvious.

How I wish I could find a patch —
a clever plan that hatched in jeers.
I did’nt quite believe my ears
when you stated the obvious.

12:45 AM 8/3/2006

I wrote this one directly to my computer without resorting to pencil and paper. Why? 1. I had to refer to the article in Wikipedia describing the structure of the villanelle many times; 2. Copying and pasting the repeating lines using a computer is so much easier (Isn’t this one obvious?).

3 Responses to Stating the Obvious

  1. jennee says:

    coolness! you actually wrote a villanelle! hehehe…

  2. I hope you liked it!

  3. Ron says:

    baka pwede ka gumawa script or macro na magfi-fill up nung ibang lines agad hehe🙂

Leave a Reply

